This past weekend was a blueberry weekend. By that, I mean that I used a fair amount of blueberries. Ok–I used blueberries in 2 things, but they were DELICIOUS things.

My first experiment was to make Ina Garten’s (or the ‘Barefoot Contessa”s) Blueberry Crumb Cake–which is basically a streusel cake. Streusel is a crumb topping of butter, flour, and sugar, and in this case–some cinnamon and nutmeg too.

Ina Garten's Blueberry Crumble Cake (by athenapearl)

First things first–the blueberries. Now, I had read somewhere that if you flour the blueberries before putting them in the batter, they won’t sink to the bottom of the cake. I floured the blueberries. THEY SUNK. So, with some further thought, next time I make this cake I’m going to set aside the blueberries, put 2/3 of the batter in the cake pan, sprinkle in the blueberries, and then top with the remaining batter…and then the streusel, as per the recipe instructions. With this recipe, I used 3 regular sized eggs instead of the 2 extra-large eggs, and I didn’t have any brown sugar, so I used Demerara sugar. This may have made the streusel a little more crunchy than it should have been, but nonetheless tasty.

Homemade apple, banana, and blueberry baby food (by athenapearl)

Blueberry experiment number 2: I made some homemade baby food for my son. I made it using an apple, a banana, and the leftover blueberries from the punnet I used for the cake recipe. My kid LOVED it. It was great on its own, or mixed with some baby rice for a ‘breakfast’-y alternative.

So–2 great ways to use 1 punnet of blueberries!

How do you like to use your blueberries?
Any great recipes you’d like to share?

2 responses »

  1. Riotflower says:

    Yum! I like blueberries straight from the bush, bowl, or in smoothies. Lil one’s food sounds delicious to me! I also love blueberry pancakes and blueberry muffins! The cake sounds good to.

  2. Young Wifey says:

    Delcious! I like my blueberries on top of a pavlova, in pancakes or in a bowl with milk!

Leave a Reply

