I’ve talked to several people about this situation. And while most disagree with his actions, a few have said–what’s the big deal, or more the deeper sentiment that if you have strong feelings about this either pro or con–that you’re just buying into it, and worse, adding to the cycle.

To be honest, I want to be kept informed. I know that burning books, in the grand scheme of things, is nothing. That the repercussions of this might be big or little. That a book is just a book, even if what it contains means everything to you. Its replaceable.

Maybe by posting a blog about this adds to the cycle–feeds into the hysteria about it. I’m not sure that’s true, but I can’t be certain its not. On the other hand, I’d rather care and point out ignorance–than not care, and let it wash over me. Maybe some people are indifferent to this, numb even because its all too common an occurance. Am I really doing anything to STOP this particular action, or the general ignorance behind it, no…not really. Does Pastor Terry have a right to burn what he pleases as long as he has a fire permit? Probably, but I suppose that’s to be determined. I’m against people like him, but I don’t HATE him. I don’t think he’s EVIL, or the DEVIL. I and most people opposed to his train of thought aren’t doing so because we’re back-lashing. Personally, I wrote that blog because I’m scared. And worried. And disgusted. Not because I hate.


‘The opposite of love is not hate, but indifference.’ –Elie Wiesel.

Leave a Reply

