These were originally called ‘Muffins That Taste Like Donuts’, but I call them:

Snickerdoodle Muffins!


I got this recipe from thepioneerwoman.com’s Tasty Kitchen (added graciously by lemanda) where you can also get the recipe. Check out the rest of the site too–it’s awesome. Everyone who’s added a recipe is just like you and me–they’ve tried things, tested them, and found recipes they love to make!

I call them Snickerdoodle Muffins because they reminded me of making snickerdoodle cookies–as you roll both tasty treats in cinnamon and sugar. I didn’t actually roll the whole muffin in the butter, then cinnamon sugar, as I baked them in cases. I simply dunked the tops into melted butter, then dunked them again in cinnamon sugar. Easy! The husband and I found the butter and cinnamon quite enough for our taste, but feel free to go the whole hog and roll ’em.  Also, I only added a quarter of a cup of oil, instead of the recommended one-third, and they turned out great–so feel free to cut the fat, even ever so slightly! I got 11 muffins out of this recipe, but I think if you wanted smaller, fairy cake sized ones, they’d make around 20 (and might be easier to roll).

*And please, no ‘buttered muffin’ comments a la Mean Girls. Thank you, and have a pleasant tomorrow.

5 responses »

  1. OMG, I haven’t heard the word “Snickerdoodle” since eighth-grade Home Ec. Total flashback moment. But the muffins look yummy. Makes me want a working oven over here.

    Also, let me know what you think about The Help if you’re not planning to post already!

    • athenapearl says:

      I started The Help, and then put it down and not picked it up again–not because it isn’t interesting, I’m just moody like that with books. The writing itself is AMAZING, and really sucks you in and immediately makes you associate with the characters. Maybe I’ll start it up again tonight… 🙂

  2. Young Wifey says:

    These look delicious!

  3. MoVo says:

    These do look delicious, although I am sucker for anything masquerading as a doughnut.

    And I’ve been on the fence about The Help as well … have you ever read One Day? I just put it on my Kindle …

    • athenapearl says:

      No, I haven’t read One Day. I will check into it. I can’t believe you have a Kindle! Bring it with you when you visit–I want to check that out in action!

Leave a Reply

