The Semi-Finished Kitchen

Well, it’s been a while, but I’ve finally got my ass in gear and took some pictures of the ‘new’ kitchen.  We finished the painting, and went to Ikea and purchased some pine shelves to create a make-shift pantry. Aaaannnd we got a few other things too, of course. Ultimately, we want to take out the oven and the stove top, and put in a range cooker. This will cause us to lose about 3 cabinets worth of space–hence the idea for the floor to ceiling shelves. We’ve got some more to do, and when we do it, I will post it 🙂

New shelves, new paint-job, and Clarence waiting for his breakfast

Pulled Pork

I haven’t done a New Dinner Saturday in awhile, but this past weekend we had a new dinner SUNDAY. I tried a recipe for Pulled Pork that I saw on the ‘Freshly Squeezed’ page of WordPress. Pulled pork was something I’d always wanted to try, but never got around to doing. It involves a fair amount of waiting, but actual prep time is almost nothing!
I followed the same recipe, with some minor alterations. These included adding (accidentally…it could have been MUCH worse) more chilli powder; using tomato puree with a bit of water instead of tomato sauce; and finally, subtracting 200ml from the beef stock and replacing it with cola (a lot of recipes use only cola).
We used a 3-4lb pork shoulder, and the quantity of rub and sauce was perfect for it. I did end up reducing the sauce a bit too much and thus had to add a bit  of water later on (on our 2nd night of eating it). All told, it was DELICIOUS. The only thing I might do differently would be to add a bit less dried thyme. It works, but it was a bit too much for my taste-buds. We ended up having this for dinner several nights in a row. I didn’t take pictures, sorry, but those on the blog where I got the recipe are brilliant!

Fruit Pizza, Take Deux

Last, but certainly not least, I had another go at making my friend, YoungWifey’s, Fruit Pizza, for a work summer party. It turned out brilliantly, and this time I added summer fruits with extra strawberries, and some finely chopped mango.

YoungWifey's Fruit Pizza!

7 responses »

  1. Young Wifey says:

    Kitchen looks like you have a great start, can’t wait to see more pics when it’s finished! The fruit pizza looks great! Mmm… mango!

    • athenapearl says:

      It’s a great recipe–thanks for it! Everyone loved it. I might try it unfruity next time and maybe with nuts and chocolate or something. Have you tried any unfruity variations?

      • Young Wifey says:

        I did put pecans and carmel on one, I used orange zest instead of lemon, but everyone asked where the fruit was. haha. Let me know how yours turns out!

  2. Mmm, the pizza looks delicious. We’ve got some nice fresh fruit in season, so I’ll have to try it.

    PS Like the new header, esp. the owls!

  3. Fiona Wild says:

    Ooo! I’m new to all this blogging thing, took me a while to realise where I was when i clicked on the FB link 😀 Very professional xx

Leave a Reply

