My mother has been making the same great white cake with chocolate icing since I was little. Apparently, the recipe came from our next-door neighbours, and we’ve taken it on as our own! I decided to use the cake recipe to make cupcakes, but to make them a little more ‘autumnal’, I wanted to make them ORANGE. Ok–I don’t use food dye very often, and am wary about mixing it up. The cupcakes came out a little less fantastic-orange as I had wanted, but were still tasty :).

For the Cake:

  • 2 cups of plain flour (I only had self-raising, and it worked fine–I just put in a little less baking powder)
  • 2 tsp baking powder (1.5 if using self-raising flour)
  • 1/2 tsp dslt
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine (I used Flora light)
  • 3/4 cup milk (a little less if using a lot of food colouring)
  • 1/2 tsp or so of vanilla essence
  • 2 eggs
  • yellow and red food colouring
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 F/170 C/160 or so if you have a fan assisted oven.
  2. Mix the flour, sugar, butter, salt, baking powder, and the milk for about 2 minutes, or until well combined.
  3. Add in the eggs and vanilla, mixing well. Once this has come together, add the food colouring. Basically, I put in 2 parts yellow to 1 part red. I added in the red (about 2 drops) then a fair amount of the yellow. This is what I got:

    Batter

    Batter

  4. Fill a cupcake baking tray with liners, and fill 3/4 of the way. Put   into the oven for 20-25 minutes, rotating the tray when there’s only 10 minutes left of baking time. The cupcakes will be done when a toothpick comes cleanly out of the middle. 
  5. When the cupcakes are out of the oven, place onto a cooling rack. What I like to do next is brush a little bit of milk on the tops so that they don’t go hard and slightly crunchy.

For the Icing (this will make PLENTY):

  • 1 stick of butter or margarine (8 Tbsps)
  • 2 2/3 cups of icing sugar
  • 1/2 cup of powdered cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  1. First of all–if you’re using butter or harder margarine, you might need to add about 1/3 cup of milk. I used Flora light, a soft margarine, so I omitted the extra liquid.
  2. Cream the butter (if you’re using it, if not, then don’t bother whipping it up any more).
  3. Alternate adding the icing sugar and cocoa, but make sure to sift both before adding. Add these a little at a time, and mix well with the butter after each addition.
  4. After all the dry ingredients are added, add the vanilla and the milk (if necessary).

My husband requested that a few cupcakes have buttercream icing, so I made a bit of that according to the recipe on the side of the box. That turned out rather runny, but it ended up setting rather nicely. 

Decorated cupcakesI decorated each cupcake with a slice of honeycombed liquorice, and a few Reese’s pieces, because I had some at hand. Ideally, it would have been nice to decorate these with candy leaves or Halloween items like ghosts and pumpkins.

 

Enjoy it!

Enjoy it!

4 responses »

  1. youngwifey says:

    Yum! They look great!!!

  2. athenapearl says:

    Thanks, maybe next time I will try to make them more ‘orange’ 🙂

  3. Shari says:

    Very nice! So Halloween-y. 🙂

  4. riotflower says:

    Nice cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

