While watching the FoodNetwork I was innundated with the fact that it was ‘National Cupcake Week’. Well, hell. I needed to make me some cupcakes then, didn’t I? It might be treason not to.
So, I went about looking for something new. I’m fairly simple in my cupcake taste–I likes me a chocolate cupcake with vanilla buttercream. Its pretty much the fav. But a local cupcake shop does a great chocolate mint cupcake, and I was really dying to try and replicate them. So–the hunt for a recipe began, and Google did not disappoint.
I used this awesome recipe for the cake–its from lulu at home.com.

As for the mint buttercream–I found this simple recipe from Chockylit’s blog. However, I did omit the milk. I don’t know exactly what I do wrong, but most times when I make buttercream frosting, it comes out runny. So yeah, I omitted the milk. I think its because I usually use olive oil margarine instead of butter or baking margarines. I’m not sure. All I know is that it still tastes goooood. I also added a tiny amount of green food colouring and some chocolate sprinkles to give it that ‘mint chocolate chip’ effect.

The cake part turned out SO nice. The fluffiest and moistest cake I have ever made, honest. It might have to do with the buttermilk and the oil in the mixture. I’m no baking-scientist–but damn, it worked and did the job like a BOSS. The frosting, is always delicious, I just wish I could do it justice more often!

3 responses »

  1. riotflower says:

    Yum! They look good! …I *never* use milk in my buttercream. I just use butter/vegan margarine, powdered sugar, and vanilla (or whatever flavour) extract or coco powder. I’ll have to try this recipe! : * )

  2. athenapearl says:

    Thanks :) It was a really easy recipe, and I really think the oil instead of butter in the batter made a difference. The cake was really moist, but not greasy.

  3. Jenni says:

    Great information here. Some people say chocolate is better then anything. We have to agree 100%.

Leave a Reply

